fbpx

أيها الأصدقاء،

وغني عن القول إن عام 2019 يبدو وكأنه منذ زمن بعيد. مع ظهور أزمة كوفيد ، لم يكن نظام الغذاء الصناعي والاستخراجي أقل من كارثة ، ولم تكن الحاجة إلى تعزيز الزراعة المستقلة والمجتمعات التي تدعمها أكثر إلحاحًا من أي وقت مضى. نستمر في تحفيزنا بشدة من خلال مهمتنا لتحقيق ثقافة غذائية بيئية ومن قبل المؤيدين الرائعين لـ Stone Barns Center. 

في عام 2019 ، قمنا بتقييم أول 15 عامًا من عملنا وشراكتنا مع Blue Hill ، وبدأنا في تشكيل إطار عمل لمضاعفة التزاماتنا لتحقيق نظام غذائي مستدام وصحي وعادل نسعى إليه. على الرغم من أن الوباء قد أثر على خططنا والجدول الزمني لدينا ، فقد كشف أيضًا أن غرائزنا كانت صحيحة: تلك الزراعة من المزرعة إلى المائدة ، على الرغم من كل نقاط قوتها ، لا تزال تتمتع بإمكانيات كبيرة غير مستغلة ؛ ستكون الروابط الأعمق بين المزارعين والطهاة وكل من بينهم في قلب التغيير الذي نسعى إليه ؛ وأن حرمنا الجامعي في وضع فريد للعمل كمختبر للبحث والتطوير للتجربة التي ستجعل هذه الرؤية تنبض بالحياة. 

فيما يلي بعض النقاط البارزة في برامجنا لعام 2019:

أتاح المؤتمر السنوي الثاني عشر للمزارعين الشباب فرصة للتجديد والتفكير والإلهام لـ 12 مزارعًا شابًا حاضرًا وأكثر من 250 ألفًا شاركوا عبر البث المباشر ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لقد تم تنشيطنا من خلال الأصوات ووجهات النظر الموسعة الممثلة في Stone Barns المرحلة ، وأن تتاح لهم الفرصة للتعلم من القادة الذين يولدون تغييرًا رائدًا عبر نظام الغذاء. بفضل دعمكم ، تمكنا من تقديم منح دراسية لنصف الحاضرين من 35 دولة و 11 دولة. كما دخلنا في شراكة مع ثلاث منشورات رائدة في مجال الأغذية والبيئة - هيريتدج راديو نتورك ، وذا كاونتر ، وماذر جونز - لتضخيم القصص التي يتم مشاركتها في الجلسات والمحادثات عبر المؤتمر.

في عام 2019 ، قمنا بتجربة زمالة الزراعة المتجددة ، والتي تعد الجيل القادم من المزارعين ليصبحوا ممارسين وسفراء للزراعة المتجددة. من خلال الانخراط في مبادئ الزراعة المتجددة ، واكتساب التعرض لمشهد السياسات الوطنية والإقليمية ، وتطوير علاقة أعمق مع قطاع الأغذية ، عزز الزملاء الافتتاحيون التزامهم وممارستهم للزراعة المرنة.

كان عام 2019 أيضًا ثاني عام كامل من الإشراف على 350 فدانًا في محمية Rockefeller State Park ضمن خطة عمل الحفظ الخاصة بنا. خلال ذلك العام ، قمنا بتطوير شراكات مع 14 منظمة بيئية رائدة وجمعنا بيانات مكثفة عن صحة التربة والكربون ، ومجموعات النباتات ، والتنوع البيولوجي للحشرات ، ومجموعات الطيور بهدف فهم تأثير الزراعة المتجددة على أراضي الحفظ.

سنواصل العمل نحو تحقيق رؤيتنا ، ونحن ممتنون لك للغاية على الدعم الذي أظهرته على مر السنين حتى مع استمرار تكثيف تحديات نظامنا الغذائي. 

"نستمر في تحفيزنا بشدة من خلال مهمتنا المتمثلة في إحداث ثقافة غذائية بيئية ومن قبل المؤيدين الرائعين لـ Stone Barns Center."

بيجي دولاني ، الرئيس ، Stone Barns Center مجلس الادارة

هايلايت

برمجة 2019

مؤتمر المزارعين الشباب

استقبل المؤتمر السنوي الثاني عشر للمزارعين الشباب ، الذي عُقد في الفترة من 12 إلى 4 ديسمبر 6 ، أكثر من 2019 مزارعًا وشيفًا وحرفيًا ورجل أعمال من 250 ولاية و 35 دولة في المزرعة. أتاح المؤتمر للمزارعين المبتدئين فرصة التعلم من الأقران والخبراء حول الجوانب التقنية للزراعة ، والدعوة ، وفطنة الأعمال ، وعلوم المناخ والمزيد.

خطة عمل الحفظ

Stone Barns تبني الحالة أن الزراعة المتجددة ، ورعي الماشية على وجه الخصوص ، يمكن أن تساعد في تحقيق أهداف الحفظ ، وبناء أنظمة بيئية مرنة وحماية الأنواع المهمة وموائل الحياة البرية في منطقتنا. وفقًا لما دعت إليه خطة عمل الحفظ الخاصة بنا ، فإننا نملأ فجوة في البحث والرصد الحاليين للمساعدة في جمع البيانات لإثبات أن الحفظ والزراعة المتجددة يمكن أن تكون صافية إيجابية للبيئة. في عامنا الأول ، أنشأنا بيانات أساسية قوية للمؤشرات الرئيسية لصحة النظام البيئي للمراعي.

زمالة الزراعة المتجددة

في عام 2019 ، وبالتعاون مع التحالف الوطني للمزارعين الشباب وجامعة ولاية أريزونا ، Stone Barns أطلق زمالة الزراعة المتجددة. تتمثل أهداف الزمالة في التأثير بشكل إيجابي على المزارعين ومجتمعاتهم وأعمالهم والنظم البيئية التي يديرونها من خلال إشراك المزارعين الذين لا يستخدمون حاليًا الأساليب التجديدية في حوار حول الممارسات المرنة وتزويدهم بالإرادة والمهارة لتنفيذ هذه الممارسات.

مجلس الإدارة والشؤون المالية

مجلس إدارتنا

تركز على تضخيم تأثير البرامج العامة والتعليمية والتدريبية لإنشاء نظام غذائي صحي ومستدام يدعمنا جميعًا.

بيجي دولاني

كرسي

فريد كيرشنمان

الرئيس الفخري

الجهات المانحة

FARMER

$ 100,000 +

  • بيجي دولاني
  • مؤسسة Fine and Greenwald Foundation، Inc.
  • جنرال ميلز
  • لاري وفيكتوريا لونت
  • عزبة ديفيد روكفلر
  • مبادرة الباني *
  • يونيليفر
  • مؤسسة عائلة والتون *
  • ايمي وجون واينبرغ
الراعي

$ $-50,000 99,999

  • مؤسسة بيرثا
  • مؤسسة Farvue
  • ديفيد ليون
  • إيلين موسلمان
  • سارة ك. دي كويزارت مقال الثقة العاشرة الخيرية الدائمة
  • سوق الجامع للأغذية
حصاد

$ $-25,000 49,999

  • مجهول
  • بلومبرغ الخيرية
  • أغنيس جوند
  • صندوق ميمي وبيتر هاس
  • ليسينا م. هوش ✝
  • ليزلي وبيل كينج
  • مؤسسة نيومان الخاصة
  • سوزان وديفيد روكفلر

2019 المالية

دخل

$13,762

كل الأرقام بالآلاف. تستند هذه الأرقام إلى البيانات المالية المدققة.

مصاريف

$9,877

كل الأرقام بالآلاف. تستند هذه الأرقام إلى البيانات المالية المدققة.

بيان المركز المالي

إجمالي الأصول

$105,204

مجموع المطلوبات

$1,232

صافي الأصول دون قيود الجهات المانحة

$103,669

صافي الأصول مع قيود الجهات المانحة

$303

إجمالي صافي الأصول

$103,972

إجمالي المطلوبات وصافي الأصول

$105,204

Powered by GTranslate

Dear Friends,

It goes without saying that 2019 feels like a lifetime ago. As the Covid crisis has laid bare, the industrial, extractive food system is nothing short of a disaster, and the need to strengthen independent farming and the communities that support it has never been more urgent. We continue to be deeply motivated by our mission to bring about an ecological food culture and by the incredible supporters of the Stone Barns Center. 

In 2019, we took stock of the first 15 years of our work and our partnership with Blue Hill, and began to shape a framework for doubling down on our commitments to bringing about the sustainable, healthy and just food system we seek. Though the pandemic has affected our plans and our timeline, it has also revealed that our instincts were correct: that farm-to-table, for all its strengths, continues to have great untapped potential; that deeper connections among farmers, chefs and everyone in between will be at the center of the change we seek; and that our campus is uniquely positioned to serve as an R&D lab for the experimentation that will bring this vision to life. 

Here are just a few highlights from our 2019 programming:

The 12th annual Young Farmers Conference provided an opportunity for rejuvenation, reflection and inspiration for the 250 young farmers in attendance and the more than 90,000 who engaged via livestream and social media. We were so energized by the expanded voices and perspectives represented on the Stone Barns stage, and to have had the opportunity to learn from leaders generating groundbreaking change across the food system. Thanks to your support, we were able to provide scholarships to half of our attendees, who came from 35 states and 11 countries. We also partnered with three leading food and environmental publications–Heritage Radio Network, The Counter, and Mother Jones–to amplify the stories being shared in sessions and conversations across the conference.

In 2019 we piloted the Regenerative Farming Fellowship, which prepares next-generation farmers to become practitioners and ambassadors of regenerative agriculture. By engaging with the principles of regenerative farming, gaining exposure to the national and regional policy landscape, and developing a deeper connection with the business of food, the inaugural Fellows strengthened their commitment to and practice of resilient agriculture.

2019 was also our second full year of stewardship of 350+ acres in the Rockefeller State Park Preserve under our Conservation Action Plan. During that year, we developed partnerships with 14 leading ecological organizations and collected extensive data on soil health and carbon, plant populations, insect biodiversity, and bird populations with the goal of understanding the impact of regenerative agriculture on conservation lands.

We’ll continue to work toward our vision, and are so grateful to you for the support you have shown through the years even as the challenges of our food system continue to intensify. 

We continue to be deeply motivated by our mission to bring about an ecological food culture and by the incredible supporters of the Stone Barns Center.

Peggy Dulany, Chair, Stone Barns Center Board of Directors

Highlights

2019 Programming

Young Farmers Conference

The 12th annual Young Farmers Conference, held December 4-6, 2019, welcomed more than 250 farmers, chefs, artisans and entrepreneurs from 35 states and 11 countries to the farm. The conference provided beginning farmers with the opportunity to learn from peers and experts about technical aspects of farming, advocacy, business acumen, climate science and more.

Conservation Action Plan

Stone Barns is building the case that regenerative agriculture, grazing livestock in particular, can help achieve conservation goals, build resilient ecological systems and protect critical species and wildlife habitats in our region. As called for in our Conservation Action Plan, we are filling a gap in existing research and monitoring to help gather data to prove that conservation and regenerative agriculture can be a net positive for the environment. In our first year, we established strong baseline data for key indicators of grassland ecosystem health.

Regenerative Farming Fellowship

In 2019, in collaboration with the National Young Farmers Coalition and Arizona State University, Stone Barns launched the Regenerative Farming Fellowship. The goals of the fellowship are to positively impact farmers, their communities, their business, and the ecosystems they steward by engaging farmers not currently using regenerative methods in a dialogue around resilient practices and equipping them with the will and the skill to implement these practices.

Board and Financials

Our Board of Directors

Focused on amplifying the impact of public, education and training programs to create a healthy and sustainable food system that supports us all.

Peggy Dulany

Chair

Fred Kirschenmann

President

Donors

FARMER

$100,000+

  • Peggy Dulany
  • The Fine and Greenwald Foundation, Inc.
  • General Mills Foundation
  • Larry and Victoria Lunt
  • The Estate of David Rockefeller
  • The Builder's Initiative*
  • Unilever
  • The Walton Family Foundation*
  • Amy and John Weinberg
SHEPHERD

$50,000-$99,999

  • Bertha Foundation
  • Farvue Foundation
  • David Lyons
  • Elaine Musselman
  • Sarah K. de Coizart Article TENTH Perpetual Charitable Trust
  • Whole Foods Market
HARVESTER

$25,000-$49,999

  • Anonymous
  • Bloomberg Philanthropies
  • Agnes Gund
  • Mimi and Peter Haas Fund
  • Lisina M. Hoch ✝
  • Lesley and Bill King
  • Newman's Own Foundation
  • Susan and David Rockefeller

2019 Financials

income

$13,762

All numbers in thousands. These numbers are based on audited financials.

expenses

$9,877

All numbers in thousands. These numbers are based on audited financials.

Statement of Financial Position

Total Assets

$105,204

Total Liabilities

$1,232

Net Assets Without Donor Restrictions

$103,669

Net Assets With Donor Restrictions

$303

Total Net Assets

$103,972

Total Liabilities and Net Assets

$105,204