fbpx

Leadership

Jack Alger

Jack Algiere est directeur de l'agroécologie à Stone Barns Center. En tant que premier employé officiel de notre organisation en 2003, il a apporté au Stone Barns paysage. Depuis lors, il a construit une exploitation agricole intégrée ancrée dans l'intendance des terres, l'innovation et la communauté, qui sert également de campus de formation pour les jeunes agriculteurs, les chefs, les acteurs du changement et le public.

Jack est actif dans l'agriculture depuis plus de deux décennies et a formé une génération de jeunes agriculteurs aux pratiques agricoles biologiques et biodynamiques. Il supervise les grandes exploitations agricoles à Stone Barns, intégrant une équipe agricole holistique qui travaille ensemble sur le bétail multi-espèces nourris à l'herbe, les céréales, les grandes cultures, les serres, les fruits, les fleurs, les paysages sauvages et le compost dans un système de régénération à quatre saisons. Jack dirige notre programmation dans la conception d'outils innovants, la sélection et le travail de surveillance qui soutiennent les efforts des agriculteurs de petite et moyenne taille, et faisait partie de l'équipe de base qui a développé le plan d'action pour la conservation qui a conduit à notre gestion de 350 acres de terres publiques dans la réserve Rockefeller State Park. Il est un conférencier fréquent et a participé à des conférences et des sommets sur l'alimentation et l'agriculture à travers le pays. Il est titulaire d'un BS en horticulture de l'Université de Rhode Island.

Sur le côté : Avec sa femme et collègue agricultrice, Shannon, Jack a deux fils élevés à la ferme. Il est musicien de longue date et commissaire de son service local de pompiers volontaires, et a siégé à plusieurs conseils d'administration d'organisations agricoles, notamment Johnny's Selected Seeds, Cornell Cooperative Extension et le Dutchess/Putnam/Westchester (NY) Farm Bureau.

 

Photo de Ben Hider

Powered by GTranslate

At The Farm

Located in Pocantico Hills, NY, Stone Barns is a laboratory for learning and catalyzing a culture of informed, healthy eating.

See Overview

Teaching & Learning

By educating people about food and farming, we're encouraging the food citizens of tomorrow to make healthier life choices for themselves and the planet.

See Overview

About Us

We are working to develop a culture of eating based on what farms need to grow to build healthy soil and a resilient ecosystem.

See Overview

Farm

Jack Algiere

Jack Algiere is farm director at Stone Barns Center. As our organization’s first official employee back in 2003, he brought a critical skill set in diversified, regenerative farm practice to the Stone Barns landscape. Since then, he has built an integrated farming operation rooted in land stewardship, innovation and community, which also serves as a training campus for young farmers, chefs, changemakers and the public.

Jack has been actively farming for more than two decades and has trained a generation of young farmers in organic and biodynamic farming practices. He oversees the extensive farming operations at Stone Barns, integrating a holistic farm team that works together on multispecies grassfed livestock, grains, field crops, greenhouse, fruit, flowers, wild landscapes and compost in a four-season regenerative system. Jack leads our programming in innovative tool design, breeding and monitoring work that supports the efforts of small- and mid-size farmers, and was part of the core team that developed the Conservation Action Plan that led to our management of 350 acres of public lands in the Rockefeller State Park Preserve. He is a frequent public speaker and has appeared at food and farming conferences and summits across the country. He holds a B.S. in horticulture from the University of Rhode Island.

On the side: With his wife and fellow farmer, Shannon, Jack has two farm-raised sons. He is a lifelong musician and a commissioner of his local volunteer fire department, and has served on several boards of agricultural organizations including Johnny’s Selected Seeds, Cornell Cooperative Extension, and the Dutchess/Putnam/Westchester (NY) Farm Bureau.

 

Photo by Ben Hider