fbpx

حول

مزرعة

منذ زراعتنا لأول مرة في خريف عام 2003 ، التزمنا بمجموعة بسيطة وشاملة من المبادئ البيئية التي وجهت المزارعين لآلاف السنين:

  • يوفر تربة هو أساس الصحة والتغذية والنكهة
  • التنوع البيولوجي يعزز الاستقرار والمرونة
  • يوفر خدمة الثروة الحيوانية وروثها مساهمين أساسيين في النظم البيئية المعقدة والناضجة
  • مختلط متعدد السنوات دوراني نظم بالنسبة للحيوانات والحبوب ومحاصيل الخضر التي تدمج محاصيل الغطاء توفر توازنًا بين التمارين الرياضية والتغذية والراحة اللازمة لتحقيق إنتاجية دائمة وصحية
  • الموائل المحيطة و النظم البيئية هم متعاونون ذوو قيمة مع الأنظمة المزروعة
  • هناك لا النفايات في نظام طبيعي.

هذه المبادئ الأساسية هي الأساس الذي أطلقنا منه عدد لا يحصى من التجارب والتجارب والدروس المستمرة. تقدم النظم البيئية الزراعية ذاتية التجديد والتوليد حلولاً حقيقية لتغير المناخ وندرة الغذاء والتدهور البيئي. المزرعة في Stone Barns Center يعمل على ترجمة قيمة الأرض بما يتجاوز إنتاجيتها لاحتضان القيم الاجتماعية والبيئية الضرورية لاستعادة ثقافات الغذاء الإقليمية المرنة. إنها أسس الاستكشاف والتجريب التي تدمج الحكمة التقليدية مع البحث المبتكر. كما أنها بيئة نشطة لاستضافة مجتمع عادل ومتنوع وشامل من المزارعين والطهاة والعلماء والمعلمين والحرفيين.

المزرعة عبارة عن مجموعة من التخصصات المترابطة حيث يلعب كل فرد من المزارعين دورًا مميزًا وأساسيًا في المجموعة. يتشارك المزارعون الموارد والمعلومات والمسؤولية عن الكل في ظل إدارة شاملة فردية ويعملون في شراكة وثيقة مع Innovation Labs و Blue HIll في تطوير ومعالجة وتقييم المشاريع البحثية. نصنف عمليات المزرعة إلى 3 مجموعات أساسية:

الانتقال إلى المحاصيل | ماشية | النظم البيئية



المحاصيل

يركز برنامجنا على الإنتاج السنوي للخضروات والزهور والأعشاب لمدة أربعة مواسم على عشرة أفدنة من الحقول وفدان من البيوت البلاستيكية في التربة. يتضمن إنتاج المحاصيل سلسلة من أنظمة الدوران. فيما يلي الفترات الزمنية التي نقوم خلالها بدورة سلسلة من المحاصيل التجارية والغطاء من أجل تحسين والحفاظ على صحة تربتنا في الحقل والمراعي والصوب الزراعية:

  • 7 سنوات تخصص تناوب الخضروات
  • 10 سنوات على مدار أربعة مواسم تناوب الدفيئة
  • 7 سنوات من التناوب السنوي / المعمر (مرعى ، حبوب ، خضروات)
  • 4 سنوات دوران الصف المحاصيل

نزرع أكثر من 500 نوع من المحاصيل البذرة ونشارك في العشرات من عمليات تربية البذور الجارية والتعاون التجريبي. تشمل الأمثلة تقييم إطلاق البطاطس مع كورنيل ، وتجارب البطاطا الحلوة الشمالية الشرقية مع جامعة ولاية لويزيانا ، وتجارب البنجر مع جامعة ويسكونسن ، وتجارب الحبوب في الربيع / الشتاء مع جامعة ولاية داكوتا الشمالية ، وتجارب الزهور مع رابطة مزارعي الزهور المقطعة المتخصصة.



الثروة الحيوانية

لدينا برنامج متعدد الأنواع للرعي والبحث عن الماشية وتربية المواشي يدير أكثر من 400 فدان من المزرعة ومحمية Rockefeller State Park للأراضي في الخدمة البيئية والإنتاج.

  • الماشية: قطعان تتغذى على الأعشاب بنسبة 100٪ والتي تنبض عبر المراعي المفتوحة على مدار السنة
  • الأغنام: قطيع يتغذى على العشب بنسبة 100٪
  • الماعز: 100 ٪ تصفح حافة الغابة 'Kiko' x 'Savannah' بمثابة برنامج التحكم الغازي Rockefeller State Park Preserve.
  • الخنازير: نفايات غذائية بنسبة 100٪ ، غابات "ريد واتل"
  • الدجاج البياض

Stone Barns Center يلتزم بالممارسات الصارمة لرعاية حيوانات المزرعة والتعامل مع الماشية. تم تطوير بروتوكولنا وإعلامه من خلال أشهر برامج شهادات رعاية الحيوانات في العالم ، بما في ذلك شهادة الرفق بالحيوان والإنسانية الأمريكية. الجزء الأكبر من معاييرنا مستمد مباشرة من شهادة إنسانية معتمدة ، والتي تعد بمثابة الفرضية التأسيسية لبروتوكولنا. الغرض من معاييرنا هو تحسين حياة حيوانات المزرعة لدينا. تتضمن هذه المعايير البحث العلمي والمشورة البيطرية وخبرة المزارعين. أنها بمثابة دليل عملي لرعاية وإدارة جميع الماشية في Stone Barns Center. نعتقد أن الطريقة التي نربي بها حيواناتنا ، والطعام الذي تنتجه ، وتأثير نظام الزراعة لدينا على النظام البيئي مرتبطة ارتباطًا جوهريًا ، لذلك نسعى جاهدين لبناء بيئة يمكن أن تزدهر فيها الأنظمة الثلاثة في وقت واحد.



النظم البيئية

Stone Barns Center يضم 100 فدان من المناظر الطبيعية الصالحة للأكل ، والسماد ، والحراجة الزراعية ، وبساتين الفاكهة والجوز ، والحدائق العضوية الرسمية. تمتد أعمال المراقبة البيئية الإضافية عبر 300 فدان من النظم البيئية الرعوية ، والتي تعد جزءًا من محمية Rockefeller State Park المجاورة. كما ذكرنا أعلاه ، نستخدم رعي الماشية لإدارة هذه الأراضي المحمية: تقدم الحيوانات مجموعة من الخدمات التي لديها القدرة على تحسين التنوع البيولوجي للنباتات والحيوانات البرية ، وصحة التربة ، وعزل الكربون ، ومياه التربة وامتصاصها ، مع تحصينها أيضًا المراعي التي تعتمد عليها الحيوانات نفسها. نأمل أن تُظهر هذه العلاقة التأثير الإيجابي للزراعة المتجددة ليس فقط في حماية المجتمعات من أسوأ ويلات تغير المناخ ، ولكن أيضًا في المساعدة على عكس مسار الاحتباس الحراري.

  • خلالنا خطة عمل الحفظ، لقد وضعنا سبعة أهداف بيئية:
  • المرونة ، أو قدرة النظام البيئي على التنظيم الذاتي والتجديد الذاتي ؛
  • تطوير الصحة الحيوانية من خلال الرعي والتناوب متعدد الأنواع.
  • التنوع البيولوجي الأصلي ، بما في ذلك الزهور البرية الحقلية الأصلية والملقحات المحلية ؛
  • تحسين جودة الأعلاف وحالة التربة ؛
  • منع الأنواع الغازية ومكافحتها ؛
  • التعشيش بواسطة أنواع الطيور العشبية ، مثل bobolink (Dolichonyx oryzivorus) ؛
  • تطوير نظام شامل لإدارة الأراضي العشبية

جميع اعتمادات الصورة: إيلينا وولف

Powered by GTranslate

fbpx

About The

Farm

Since our first plantings in the fall of 2003, we have been committed to a simple and holistic set of ecological principles that have guided farmers for millennia:

  • The Soil is the foundation of health, nutrition and flavor
  • Biodiversity reinforces stability and resilience
  • The service of Livestock and their manures are essential contributors to complex, mature ecosystems
  • Mixed multi-year rotational systems for animals, grains and vegetable crops that integrate cover crops provide a balance of exercise, nourish and rest needed for enduring and healthy productivity
  • The surrounding habitats and Ecosystems are valuable collaborators with cultivated systems
  • There is no waste in a natural system.

These basic principles are a baseline from which we have launched myriad ongoing experiments, trials, and lessons. Self-generating, self-renewing agricultural ecosystems offer real solutions to climate change, food scarcity and ecological decline. The Farm at Stone Barns Center works to translate the value of the land beyond its productivity to embrace the social and ecological values that are essential to restoration of resilient regional food cultures. It is the grounds for exploration and experimentation that integrates traditional wisdom with innovative research. It is also an active environment for hosting an equitable, diverse and inclusive community of farmers, chefs, scientists, educators and artisans.

The Farm is a group of interdependent disciplines with each of its farmer members carrying a distinct and essential role in the ensemble. The farmers share resources, information and responsibility for the whole under singular holistic management and work in close partnership with the Innovation Labs and Blue HIll in the development, process and evaluation of research projects. We classify the farm operations into 3 primary groups:

Jump to Crops | Livestock | Ecosystems



CROPS

Our program focuses on four-season annual vegetable, flower and herb production on ten acres of fields and an acre of soil greenhouses. The crop production includes a series of rotational systems. Below are the intervals over which we cycle a series of commercial and cover crops in order to improve and maintain the health of our soils in the field, pasture and greenhouse:

  • 7 year Specialty Field Vegetable Rotation
  • 10 year Four Season Greenhouse Rotation
  • 7 year annual/perennial Ley Rotation (Pasture, Grain, Vegetable)
  • 4 year Row Crop Rotation

We grow more than 500 varieties of seeded crops and engage in a dozen ongoing seed breeding and trial collaborations. Examples include a Potato release evaluation with Cornell, northeast Sweet Potato trials with Louisiana State University, Beet trials with the University of Wisconsin, spring/winter grain trials with North Dakota State University and flower trials with the Association of Specialty Cut Flower Growers.



LIVESTOCK

We have a multi-species grazing, foraging and ranging livestock program managing over 400 acres of farm and Rockefeller State Park Preserve land in ecological service and production.

  • Cattle: 100% grass-fed herds that pulse across the open pasture year round
  • Sheep: 100% grass-fed, pulse-grazed flock
  • Goat: 100% forest edge browsing ‘Kiko’ x ‘Savannah’ serving as the Rockefeller State Park Preserve invasive control program.
  • Pigs: 100% Waste-Fed, forest-ranged ‘Red Wattle’
  • Laying Hens

Stone Barns Center adheres to rigorous practices for farm animal welfare and livestock handling. Our protocol is developed and informed by the most renowned animal welfare certification programs in the world, including Certified Humane and American Humane. The bulk of our standards are derived directly from Certified Humane, which serves as the foundational premise of our protocol. The purpose of our standards is to improve the lives of our farm animals. These standards incorporate scientific research, veterinary advice and farmer experience. They serve as a practical guideline for the care and management of all livestock at Stone Barns Center. We believe that the way we raise our animals, the food they produce and the impact of our farming system on the ecosystem are intrinsically linked, so we strive to build an environment where all three systems can simultaneously thrive.



ECOSYSTEMS

Stone Barns Center comprises 100 acres of managed edible landscaping, composting, agroforestry, fruit and nut orchards and formal organic gardens. Additional Ecological Monitoring work expands across 300 acres of pastoral ecosystems, which are part of the neighboring Rockefeller State Park Preserve. As mentioned above, we use livestock grazing to manage these protected lands: the animals bring a range of services that have the potential to improve the biodiversity of wild plants and animals, soil health, carbon sequestration, and soil water and absorption, while also fortifying the grasslands that the animals themselves rely on. We are hopeful that this relationship will demonstrate the positive impact that regenerative agriculture can have not only in protecting communities from the worst ravages of climate change, but also in helping reverse the course of global warming.

  • Through our Conservation Action Plan, we have set seven ecological goals:
  • Resilience, or the ability for the ecological system to be self-regulating and self-renewing;
  • Developing animal health through adaptive rotational multi-species grazing and foraging;
  • Native biodiversity, including native field wildflowers and native pollinators;
  • Improved forage quality and soil condition;
  • Invasive species prevention and control;
  • Nesting by grassland bird species, such as bobolink (Dolichonyx oryzivorus);
  • Developing a holistic grasslands management system

All photo credits: Elena Wolfe

Powered by GTranslate